top of page

The Continent of Africa

Africa is the world's second-largest and second-most populous continent. At about 30.3 million km² including adjacent islands, it covers 6% of Earth's total surface area and 20% of its land area. With 1.3 billion people as of 2018, it accounts for about 16% of the world's human population.


African history is a massive and intricate subject, world-shaking events have shaped the continent's history, from the early men and women who left their footsteps in volcanic ash to the liberation of Nelson Mandela, and a whole lot of wars, conquests, civilisations and revolutions in between.


The majority of Africans are adherents of Christianity or Islam. African people often combine the practice of their traditional belief with the practice of Abrahamic religions. Abrahamic religions are widespread throughout Africa.


Africa - the second largest continent in the world is also home to the largest desert in the world - the Sahara. In fact there are three deserts on the continent - The Sahara, the Namib and the Kalahari.

The continent of AFRICA has 54 countries!

1 Algeria

2 Angola

3 Benin

4 Botswana

5 Burkina Faso

6 Burundi

7 Cameroon

8 Cape Verde

9 Central African Republic

10 Chad

11 Comoros

12 Democratic Republic of the Congo

13 Republic of the Congo

14 Djibouti

15 Egypt

16 Equatorial Guinea

17 Eritrea

18 Ethiopia

19 Gabon

20 Gambia

21 Ghana

22 Guinea

23 Guinea-Bissau

24 Ivory Coast

25 Kenya

26 Lesotho

27 Liberia

28 Libya

29 Madagascar

30 Malawi

31 Mali

32 Mauritania

33 Mauritius

34 Morocco

35 Mozambique

36 Namibia

37 Niger

38 Nigeria

39 Rwanda

40 Sao Tome and Principe

41 Senegal

42 Seychelles

43 Sierra Leone

44 Somalia

45 South Africa

46 South Sudan

47 Sudan

48 Swaziland

49 Tanzania

50 Togo

51 Tunisia

52 Uganda

53 Zambia

54 Zimbabwe

Which have you visited or plans to visit in the near future?

Check our Africa destinations and book with us.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page